For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
About AHM


Amsterdam School for Heritage, Memory and Material Culture

The AHM Board gives advice on strategic and operational matters such as the assessment procedures and grant competitions and policy issues of PhD candidates.

AHM’s advisory board currently consists of the following scholars:

  • Prof. Nanci Adler (Holocaust, Genocide and Transitional Justice, NIOD/2014-2019)
  • Prof. Robin Boast (Information sciences/2014-2019)
  • Prof. Maarten van Bommel (Conservation & Restoration/2015-2019)
  • Prof. Christa-Maria Lerm Hayes (Modern & Contemporary Art/2014-2019)
  • Prof. Julia Noordegraaf (Digital Heritage and Media Studies/2014-2019)
  • Prof. Rob van dear Laarse (Art and Culture/2014-2019)
  • Prof. James Symonds (Archaeology/2015-2019)
  • Dr. Ihab Saloul (Art and Culture/2014-2019)

Previous AHM Board Members:

  • Prof. Frank van Vree (Dean up to 2016 and NIOD Director/2014-2015) Prof. Jan Willem van Henten (Religion Studies/2014-2015)
  • Prof. Ellen Rutten (Slavic Studies/2014-2015)
  • Dr. Chiara de Cesari (European Studies/2014-2015)

The following PhD candidates acted as AHM’s representatives in the Faculty PhD Council and in the school’s advisory Board:

  • Inge Kalle-den Oudsten (AHM Advisory Board, 2016-2019)
  • Nour Munawar (AHM PhD Representative, Faculty PhD Council, 2017-2019)
  • Dana Dolghin (AHM Advisory Board, 2014-2016)
  • Laura Boerhout (AHM PhD Representative, Faculty PhD Council, 2014-2017)