For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

Ethics Committee Faculty of Humanities

The Ethics Committee safeguards the ethical standards of all research involving human participants that is conducted at the Faculty of Humanities. It draws up guidelines for carrying out ethical research and reviews research proposals to ensure that these standards are upheld.

Before any research involving questionnaires, interviews, experiments or observations commences, approval of the Ethics Committee must be obtained.

A growing number of academic journals as well as Dutch and European funding bodies now require the formal approval of an Ethics Committee before an article can be published or a subsidy granted.  

Ethics Review Procedure

Approval of the Ethics Committee can be obtained via the Ethics and Data Management Review (EDMR) Portal.

To apply for a research review, please go to and select FGW – Faculty of Humanities and login with your UvAnetID. Create a new project (under My projects) and fill out the checklists and submit this alongside the Information brochure and Informed consent form.

Download standard forms for the Information brochure and Informed consent form here:

Please note that both forms have to be adjusted to your project’s needs. Make sure that the information brochure and the consent form are consistent in their content.

* Standard EC forms (English)

* Standard EC forms (Dutch)

Download guidelines / procedures here:

Guidelines for online research 

BA umbrella application procedure incl. Ethics and GDPR instructions here (Dutch)

BA umbrella application procedure (English)

Ethics and GDPR instructions (Dutch)

Ethics and GDPR instructions (English)

The guidelines will be kept up to date and may change as the situation changes. Be sure to check for the latest version!

Only staff members can submit a project. However, Bachelor and Master students may assist their supervisor with preparing the application as a collaborator. The responsible supervisor, not the student, should supervise and submit the EC/GDPR review application.

Standard projects will be assigned to one member of the Ethics Committee and are evaluated throughout the year as they come in.

Non-standard projects are discussed in one of the plenary meetings of the Ethics Committee and need to be submitted according to the deadlines below. A project is considered non-standard if participants are <16 years of age, belong to a vulnerable group, if there is a possibility of harmful or disadvantageous effects, chance findings, discomfort or if special personal data (see Ethics and GDPR Instructions above) or non-standard methods (for your field of research) are used.

The Ethics Committee will convene on:

  • 4 November 2022 (deadline for non-standard projects 27 October 2022)
  • 9 December 2022 (deadline for non-standard projects 1 December 2022)
  • 27 January 2023 (deadline for non-standard projects 19 January 2023)
  • 10 March 2023 (deadline for non-standard projects 2 March 2023)
  • 21 April 2023 (deadline for non-standard projects 13 April 2023)
  • 9 June 2023 (deadline for non-standard projects 1 June 2023)

Committee members

The Ethics Committee consists of a chairperson, a professor of Ethics from the Philosophy Department and various members with specific areas of expertise covering all involved disciplines. The committee secretary is provided by the Faculty Office’s Research Department.

Dr G. (Giovanni) Colavizza

Faculty of Humanities

Departement Mediastudies

Prof. dr. S. (Stefania) Milan

Faculty of Humanities

Departement Mediastudies

Dr. T.R.V. (Thomas) Nys

Faculty of Humanities

Capaciteitsgroep Philosophy and Public Affairs

Dr. R. (Roland) Pfau


Dr. M. (Makiko) Sadakata

Faculty of Humanities

Capaciteitsgroep Muziekwetenschap

Dr. S. (Stefan) Salomon LLM

Faculty of Humanities

Capaciteitsgroep Europese studies

Dr. J. (Josje) Verhagen

Faculty of Humanities

Capaciteitsgroep Nederlandse Taalkunde

Dr. B.M. (Marijn) van 't Veer

Faculty of Humanities

Capaciteitsgroep Taalwetenschap


Ethics Committee secretary - | T: 020 525 3054 | Binnengasthuisstraat 9 | 1012 ZA Amsterdam | kamer 2.03